2022–2026 electoral district map

Electoral District of Morphett (PDF, 563KB)

Features of the district


The district of Morphett covers an area to the south-west of the city of Adelaide. It includes the seaside suburbs of Glenelg and the Morphettville Racecourse.


Approximately 13.9 km2


Morphett includes the suburbs of Camden Park, Glenelg, Glenelg East, Glenelg North, Glenelg South, Glengowrie, Morphettville, Novar Gardens, Park Holme, and part of the suburb Somerton Park.


The district was created at the 1976 boundary redistribution and first represented in 1977.

Origin of the name

The district is named after Sir John Morphett (1809–1892), a prominent nineteenth-century landowner and politician who arrived in South Australia on the Cygnet in 1836. In 1837 Morphett played a key role in confirming the site of Adelaide in the new province. In 1843 he was nominated to be one of the first non-official members of the Legislative Council. In 1851 he was Speaker of the reformed Legislative Council and between 1865 and 1873 was President of the elected Legislative Council.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Morphett gains the suburb of Glenelg North. Morphett loses the suburb of Plympton Park, the remainder of Plympton and a portion of Somerton Park.

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1977
Terence R. Groom ALP 1977–1979
John K. G. Oswald LIB 1979–2002
Duncan McFetridge LIB 2002–2018
Stephen Patterson LIB 2018–present

Election results