In South Australia there is one Legislative Council district (the entire state) and forty-seven House of Assembly districts.

The number of electors in each House of Assembly electoral district grows at different rates due to differences in population and housing growth. This means that boundaries need to be reviewed or redistributed from time to time so all districts have a similar number of electors. The Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (EDBC) is appointed under the Constitution Act 1934  to consider the boundaries after every election.

On 18 November 2020 the EDBC released its Report on the redistribution of South Australia‚Äôs 47 House of Assembly electoral districts. The new boundaries will take effect at the next State election, on 19 March 2022. To access a copy of the Report, please visit the EDBC website

The Electoral Commission of South Australia (ECSA) is responsible for implementing the boundary changes. These changes include:

  • adjusting the electoral roll to reflect the new boundaries
  • updating records
  • preparing maps and materials.

ECSA writes to all electors before each State election to advise them of the election and the electoral district they are enrolled in.