2022–2026 electoral district map

Electoral District of Kavel (PDF, 732KB)

Features of the district


This district is located in the Adelaide Hills to the east of Adelaide. While its main population centre is the fast-growing Hills city of Mount Barker, Kavel also includes extensive agricultural and horticultural areas.


Approximately 378.8 km2


Kavel incorporates the localities of Balhannah, Blakiston, Brukunga, Bugle Ranges, Charleston, Dawesley, Forest Range, Hay Valley, Lenswood, Littlehampton, Lobethal, Mount Barker, Mount Barker Junction, Mount Barker Springs, Mount Barker Summit, Nairne, Oakbank, Totness, Wistow and Woodside.


The district of Kavel was created in 1969 and has been contested and represented continuously since 1970.

Origin of the name

The district is named after August Ludwig Christian Kavel (1798–1860), a Lutheran pastor who came to South Australia with 200 of his German followers in 1838 seeking religious freedom. Kavel established his first settlement in South Australia in Klemzig, the name of the village where he and many of his followers had emigrated from in Prussia. Kavel was a founder of Lutheranism in Australia.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Kavel gains the localities of Bugle Ranges, Forest Range, Lenswood, Lobethal and Wistow. Kavel loses the localities of Carey Gully, Hahndorf, Mount George, Paechtown, Piccadilly and Verdun.  

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1970
Eric R. Goldsworthy LIB 1970–1992
John W. Olsen LIB 1992–2002
Mark Goldsworthy LIB 2002–2018
Daniel (Dan) Cregan LIB (2018–2021)/IND (2021–) 2018–present

Election results