2022-2026 electoral district map

Electoral District of Cheltenham (PDF, 250KB)

Features of the district


Cheltenham is a mostly residential district which also includes some light industry, located north-west of the city of Adelaide. Port Road runs diagonally north-west across the centre of the district, and its northern boundary is formed by Grand Junction Road.


Approximately 16.8 km2


Cheltenham incorporates the suburbs of Alberton, Athol Park, Beverley, Cheltenham, Findon, Pennington, Queenstown, St Clair, Woodville, Woodville North, Woodville Park, Woodville South and Woodville West. It also includes part of the suburb of Rosewater.


The district, formerly named Price, was created at the 1998 redistribution and first contested and represented in 2002.

Origin of the name

Cheltenham is named after the local suburb of the same name, which in turn was named after a town and borough in Gloucestershire, England, first recorded under the Anglo-Saxon name 'celtan hom', meaning settlement on the River Chelt.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Cheltenham gains the suburb of Athol Park and loses Albert Park and Hendon.

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 2002
Jay W. Weatherill ALP 2002–2019
Joe Szakacs ALP 2019*–present


Election results