West Torrens

2018-2022 electoral district map

Electoral District of West Torrens map (PDF 996 kB)

Features of the district

The district of West Torrens is located directly to the west of the city and electoral district of Adelaide. The edge of the Adelaide Airport forms part of its western boundary. A mix of older and newer suburbs and some light industry are features of this district.

Approximately 18.3 km2

West Torrens includes the suburbs of Brooklyn Park, Cowandilla, Flinders Park, Hilton, Hindmarsh, Keswick Terminal, Marleston, Mile End, Mile End South, Netley, Richmond, Thebarton, Torrensville, Underdale and West Richmond. It also includes parts of the suburbs of Allenby Gardens, Lockleys, Welland and West Hindmarsh.


West Torrens is (along with Flinders, Light and Port Adelaide) one of only four South Australian electoral districts to retain the name it had at the inaugural 1857 House of Assembly election. The district has been created and abolished four times as a House of Assembly district, and once as a Legislative Council district. It was first used as a Legislative Council district from 1851 until 1857. From 1857 until 1902 it was a House of Assembly district. It was recreated again at the 1915 election and lasted until 1938. Then in 1955 it was recreated to replace the seat of Thebarton and continued until 1970 when it was renamed Peake. Finally at the 1998 redistribution, it was restored to its original name.

Origin of the name
The district takes its name from the River Torrens which flows from east to west across the district. The West Torrens region included the first ‘country’ sections to be surveyed by Colonel Light and his party. It was amongst the earliest areas to be settled and was one of the first districts to seek local government status following proclamation of the Districts Councils Act in 1852.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014
West Torrens gains the suburbs of Flinders Park and Hindmarsh, and portions of the suburbs of Allenby Gardens, Welland and West Hindmarsh. West Torrens loses the suburbs of Adelaide Airport, Kurralta Park and North Plympton, and part of the suburb of Lockleys.

Representation & Results

Members since first represented in 2002

Member  Affiliation  Period 
John F. Walsh ALP 1956 - 1965
Glen R. Broomhill ALP 1965 - 1970
Tom Koutsantonis ALP 2002 -

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact

Authorised by M.Sherry, Electoral Commissioner