2018-2022 electoral district map

Electoral District of Torrens map (PDF 1 MB)

Features of the district

This district located to the north-east of the City of Adelaide consists largely of residential suburbs. Its southern boundary is defined by the River Torrens / Karrawirra Parri.

Approximately 16.97 km2

Torrens includes the suburbs of Dernancourt, Gilles Plains, Greenacres, Hampstead Gardens, Hillcrest, Holden Hill, Klemzig, Manningham, Oakden, Vale Park and Windsor Gardens.


The district of Torrens has had three incarnations as a House of Assembly seat. It first existed from 1902 until 1915 as a large multi-member district covering most of the eastern suburbs of Adelaide. In its next two incarnations, from 1938 until 1985 and from 1993 until present, Torrens has been a much smaller metropolitan seat in Adelaide's inner north-eastern suburbs, centred around the Torrens River.

Origin of the name
The district is named after Sir Robert Richard Torrens GCMG (1814 - 1884), a former premier of South Australia and the founder of the Torrens land title land registration system. Torrens migrated to Adelaide from Ireland in 1839. He was at various times Collector of Customs, Legislative Councillor (1851), Treasurer, and Premier and was appointed as the first Registrar General. He introduced the Real Property Act (the Torrens-title system of land registration) that was adopted by other colonies and eventually many countries throughout the world.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014
Torrens gains the suburbs of Manningham and Vale Park and the remainder of the suburbs of Dernancourt, Gilles Plains and Klemzig. It loses the suburbs of Lightsview and Northfield as well as portions of the suburbs of Hope Valley and Northfield.

Representation & Results

Members since first represented in 1993

Member  Affiliation  Period 
Patrick J. (Joe) Tiernan  LIB  1993 – 1994
Robyn K. Geraghty ALP 1994 – 2014
Dana Wortley ALP 2014 –

Members of historical electoral district of Torrens (during its existence, 1938 – 1985)

Member  Affiliation  Period 
Shirley W. Jeffries LCL 1938 – 1944
Herbert L. Baldock ALP 1944 – 1947
Shirley W. Jeffries LCL 1947 – 1953
John L. Travers LCL 1956 – 1977
Michael M. Wilson LIB 1977 – 1985

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact

Authorised by M.Sherry, Electoral Commissioner