2018-2022 electoral district map

Electoral District of Stuart map (PDF 803 kB)

Features of the district

Stuart is a country district extending from Port Augusta, its main population centre, to the Northern Territory border in the north and the Queensland and the New South Wales borders in the east. The district includes pastoral lease and unincorporated Crown Lands, Lake Eyre and the Simpson Desert in the far north.

Approximately 330,656 km2

Stuart includes the city of Port Augusta and the localities of Burra, Eudunda, Gladstone, Hallett, Innamincka, Kapunda, Leigh Creek, Marree, Parachilna, Robertstown, Spalding and Truro. It incorporates the councils of Goyder, Mount Remarkable, Orroroo Carrieton, Peterborough, Port Augusta, portions of the councils of Light, Mid Murray and Northern Areas, as well as part of the Pastoral Unincorporated Area.


First named as an electorate in 1936 and effective at the 1938 elections, Stuart ceased to exist in 1993. The name Stuart was revived at the 1994 redistribution of electoral boundaries, and has been contested and represented from 1997.

Origin of the name
The district is named after John McDouall Stuart (1815-1866), an explorer, who between 1860 and 1862 pioneered a route across Australia south to north. This paved the way ten years later for the construction of the overland telegraph line from Adelaide to Port Darwin.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014
Stuart gains parts of the Northern Areas Council including the localities of Beetaloo Valley and Laura, and parts of Cadel, Fisher, Georgetown, Huddleston, Spalding, Stone Hut, Truro and Huddleston. Stuart loses a portion of the Mid Murray Council (including Blanchetown, Cadell, Morgan, Wombats Rest and portions of Fisher and Sedan) and the remainder of the localities of Greenock, Nuriootpa and Stockwell.

Representation & Results

Members since first represented in 1938 (lapsed 1993-1997)

Member  Affiliation  Period 
Lindsay G. Riches ALP 1938 - 1970
Gavin F. Kenneally ALP 1938 - 1970
Colleen F. Hutchison ALP 1989 - 1993
Graham M. Gunn LIB 1997 - 2010
Daniel C. van Holst Pellekaan LIB 2010 -

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact

Authorised by M.Sherry, Electoral Commissioner