2018-2022 electoral district map

Electoral District of Playford map (PDF 1 MB)

Features of the district

This largely residential district is located in the northern suburbs of metropolitan Adelaide, bound by Port Wakefield Road along its western side. It also includes Parafield Airport.

Approximately 24.61 km2

Playford includes the suburbs of Green Fields, Mawson Lakes, Para Hills, Para Hills West, Parafield and Parafield Gardens.


The district was created in 1969 and first contested and represented in 1970.

Origin of the name
The district of Playford is named after Sir Thomas Playford (1896 – 1981), Premier of South Australia from 1938 to 1965, the longest serving Premier in South Australia. One of Playford’s key successes was to change the basis of the State’s economy from an over-reliance on primary industry to an industry-based footing. The Whyalla steelworks and shipyard, the Port Stanvac oil refinery and the Housing and Electricity Trusts were all established in his time.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014
Playford gains the suburbs of Green Fields, Mawson Lakes, Parafield and Parafield Gardens. Playford loses the suburbs of Ingle Farm and Walkley Heights, and also parts of the suburbs of Northfield and Pooraka and the remainder of the suburbs of Gepps Cross, Gulfview Heights, Para Vista and Valley View. 

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission.

Representation & Results

Members since first represented in 1977

Member  Affiliation  Period 
Terence M. McRae  ALP 1970 – 1989
John A. Quirke  ALP 1989 – 1997 
John J. (Jack) Snelling  ALP 1997 – 2018
Michael Brown ALP 2018 

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results  

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact

Authorised by M.Sherry, Electoral Commissioner