2018-2022 electoral district map

Electoral District of Mawson map (PDF 944 kB)

Features of the district

This country district located south of Metropolitan Adelaide extends from McLaren Vale in the north down the Fleurieu Peninsula and across to and incorporating Kangaroo Island. The district’s economy is based on agriculture, horticulture and tourism.

Approximately 5,371.6 km2

Mawson incorporates Kangaroo Island Council and portions of Alexandrina Council, the City of Onkaparinga and the District Council of Yankalilla. It includes, among others, the localities of Cape Jervis, Kingscote, McLaren Vale, Port Willunga, Sellicks Beach, Willunga and Yankalilla.


The district of Mawson was created at the 1969 redistribution and has been contested and represented continuously since 1970.

Origin of the name
The district takes its name after Sir Douglas Mawson (1882-1956), a scientist and explorer, who was associated with the University of Adelaide from 1905 and its Professor of Geology 1921-1952. He was a member of an Antarctic Expedition in 1908 and led three other Antarctic Expeditions 1911-1914, 1929 and 1931. Mawson also undertook geological studies in South Australia.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014
Mawson gains Kangaroo Island, the suburbs of Aldinga Beach and Port Willunga, part of the locality of McLaren Flat, part of Alexandrina Council incorporating part of Pages Flat, part of City of Onkaparinga incorporating the suburb of Sellicks Beach, part of District Council of Yankalilla incorporating the localities of Bald Hills, Cape Jervis, Carrickalinga, Deep Creek, Delamere, Hay Flat, Myponga, Myponga Beach, Normanville, Parawa, Rapid Bay, Second Valley, Silverton, Torrens Vale, Tunkalilla, Wattle Flat, Willow Creek, Wirrina Cove and Yankalilla. Mawson loses the locality of Blewitt Springs, Hackham, Hackham West, Huntfield Heights, Noarlunga Centre, Noarlunga Downs, Old Noarlunga and Seaford Heights, as well as part of the suburbs of Clarendon, Onkaparinga Hills and Woodcroft.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission.

Representation & Results

Members since first represented in 1993

Member  Affiliation  Period 
Donald J. Hopgood ALP 1970 - 1977
Leslie Drury ALP 1977 - 1979
Ivar Schmidt LIB 1979 - 1982
Susan M. Lenehan ALP 1982 - 1993
Robert L. Brokenshire LIB 1993 - 2006
Leon W.K. Bignell ALP 2006 -

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results  

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact

Authorised by M.Sherry, Electoral Commissioner