2018-2022 electoral district map

Electoral District of MacKillop map (PDF 722 kB)

Features of the district

This country district is located in the south-east of the State, sandwiched between the Southern Ocean to the west and the border with Victoria to the east. MacKillop includes the coastal towns of Beachport, Kingston South East and Robe, and rural centres of Bordertown, Keith, Millicent, Naracoorte,and Penola. The district’s economy is based on pastoral farming, forestry and the fishing industry.

Approximately 25,312.9 km2

MacKillop incorporates the councils of Coorong, Kingston, Naracoorte Lucindale, Robe, Tatiara and Wattle, and includes, among others, the towns of Beachport, Bordertown, Keith, Kingston South East, Millicent, Naracoorte, Penola and Robe.


The district of MacKillop was created at the 1991 redistribution and has been contested and represented continuously since 1993.

Origin of the name
The district is named after Mary Helen MacKillop (1842-1909), an Australian nun posthumously canonised by the Catholic Church in 2010, as St Mary of the Cross MacKillop. Although born in Victoria, MacKillop is best known for her activities in South Australia. In 1866 she founded in Penola the Sisters of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart (the Josephites), a congregation of religious sisters that established a number of schools and welfare institutions throughout the state and across Australasia, with an emphasis on education for the rural poor.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014
MacKillop gains a portion of Coorong District Council including the localities of Lake Albert and Waltowa, and the remainder of the locality of Meningie.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission.

Representation & Results

Members since first represented in 1993

Member  Affiliation  Period 
Dale S. Baker LIB 1993 - 1997
Michael R. (Mitch) Williams IND/LIB 1997 - 2018
Nick McBride LIB 2018 -

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results  

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact

Authorised by M.Sherry, Electoral Commissioner