2018-2022 electoral district map

Electoral District of Light map (PDF 855 kB)

Features of the district

The district of Light is located just north of greater metropolitan Adelaide, extending from the outer Elizabeth suburbs of Munno Para and Munno Para West in the south to the town of Gawler and its suburbs in the north. It encompasses both residential and semi-rural areas.

Approximately 62.36 km2

Light includes the suburbs of Buchfelde, Evanston Gardens, Evanston Park, Evanston South, Gawler, Gawler East, Gawler South, Gawler West, Hewett, Hillier, Kudla, Munno Para, Munno Para Downs, Munno Para West, Reid and Willaston.


The district is one of only four (with Flinders, Port Adelaide and West Torrens) to bear the name of one of the 17 original 1857 House of Assembly districts. Light was abolished in 1902 but revived in 1936, effective at the election held in 1938.

Origin of the name
Light is named after Colonel William Light (1786 – 1839), who was the first Surveyor-General of South Australia. Light determined the site for the City of Adelaide, divided its acreage into marketable lots and commenced the definition of country sections and land for secondary townships.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014
Light gains the suburbs of Evanston South, Kudla and Munno Para, and also the remainder of the suburbs of Evanston Park and Munno Para Downs. Light loses the suburb of Angle Vale and the localities of Concordia, Gawler Belt, Gawler River, Kalbeeba, Kangaroo Flat, Kingsford, Magdala, Pinkerton Plains, Roseworthy, Templers, Ward Belt, Wasleys and Woolsheds, and also the remainder of the locality of Hamley Bridge and part of the locality of Reeves Plains.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission.

Representation & Results

Members since first represented in 1938

Member  Affiliation  Period 
Richard L. Butler LCL 1938 – 1938
Herbert D. Michael LCL 1939 – 1941
Sydney McHugh ALP 1941 – 1944
Herbert D. Michael LCL 1944 – 1956
George Hambour LCL 1956 – 1960 
Leslie C. Nicholson LCL 1960 – 1962
John S. Freebairn LCL 1962 – 1970
Bruce C. Eastick LCL/LIB 1970 – 1993
Malcolm R. Buckby LIB 1993 – 2006
Antonio (Tony) Piccolo ALP 2006 –

Election results

2018 State Election resultss
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results  

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact

Authorised by M.Sherry, Electoral Commissioner