2018-2022 electoral district map

Electoral District of Kavel map (PDF 1 MB)

Features of the district

This district is located in the Adelaide Hills to the east of Adelaide and includes both residential Adelaide Hills towns such as Hahndorf, Mount Barker and Nairne and orchard and farming areas.

Approximately 326.9 km2

Kavel includes the localities of Balhannah, Blakiston, Brukunga, Carey Gully, Charleston, Dawesley, Hahndorf, Hay Valley, Littlehampton, Mount Barker, Mount Barker Springs, Mount Barker Summit, Mount George, Nairne, Oakbank, Paechtown, Piccadilly, Totness, Verdun and Woodside.


The district of Kavel was created in 1969 and has been contested and represented continuously since 1970.

Origin of the name
The district is named after August Ludwig Christian Kavel (1798-1860), a Lutheran pastor, who came to South Australia with 200 of his German followers in 1838 seeking religious freedom. Kavel established his first settlement in South Australia in Klemzig, the name of the village where he and many of his followers emigrated from in Prussia. Kavel was a founder of Lutheranism in Australia.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014
Kavel gains the suburbs of Hahndorf, Paechtown, Piccadilly and Verdun, and parts of the suburbs of Carey Gully, Mount Barker, Mount Barker Springs and Mount Barker Summit. Kavel loses the suburbs of Birdwood, Forest Range, Gumeracha, Lobethal and Mount Torrens, and part of the suburb of Uraidla. It also loses the localities of Harrogate, Kanmantoo and St Ives, as well as parts of the localities of Callington, Monarto, Monarto South and Petwood. 

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission.

Representation & Results

Members since first represented in 1970

Member  Affiliation  Period 
Eric R. Goldsworthy LIB 1970 - 1992
John W. Olsen LIB 1992 - 2002
Mark Goldsworthy LIB 2002 - 2018
Dan Cregan LIB 2018 -

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results
2010 State Election results

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact

Authorised by M.Sherry, Electoral Commissioner