2018-2022 electoral district map

Electoral District of Black map (PDF 986 kB)

Features of the district

This district located to the south-west of metropolitan Adelaide includes a stretch of coastline along Gulf St Vincent and takes in the residential suburbs of Hallett Cove and Marino.

Approximately 35.03 km2

Black includes the suburbs of Darlington, Hallett Cove, Kingston Park, Marino, O’Halloran Hill, Seacliff, Seacliff Park, Seacombe Heights, Seaview Downs, Sheidow Park and Trott Park.

This list is indicative only.


The district, formerly named Mitchell, was created at the 2016 electoral redistribution and will be first represented in 2018.

Origin of the name
The district of Black is named in honour of Dorothea Foster Black (1891 – 1951), known as Dorrit Black, who is regarded as one of Australia’s most important modern artists. Known for her linocuts, oil paintings and watercolours, Black was the subject of a landmark retrospective exhibition at the Art Gallery of South Australia in 2014.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014
Black gains the suburbs of Hallett Cove, Kingston Park, Marino, Seacliff and Seacliff Park. It also gains the remainder of the suburb of Darlington, and part of the suburb of O’Halloran Hill. Black loses the suburbs of Dover Gardens, Old Reynella, Reynella, Seacombe Gardens and Sturt. It also loses the remainder of the suburbs of Oaklands Park and Warradale. 

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission.

Representation & Results

Members since first represented in 2018

Member  Affiliation  Period 
 David Speirs LIB  2018 

Members of former electoral district of Mitchell (during its existence, 1970 – 2018)

Member  Affiliation  Period 
Ronald G. Payne  ALP  1970 – 1989
Paul Holloway  ALP 1989 – 1993
Colin J. Caudell LIB 1993 – 1997
Kris Hanna ALP/GRN/IND 1997 – 2010 
Alan J. Sibbons ALP 2010 – 2014 
Corey Wingard LIB 2014 – 2018 

Election results

2018 State Election results

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact

Authorised by M.Sherry, Electoral Commissioner