2022–2026 electoral district map

Electoral District of Port Adelaide (PDF, 1.1MB)

Features of the district


The district of Port Adelaide is located to the north-west of metropolitan Adelaide. It includes the historic area of Port Adelaide, the seaside suburbs of North Haven, Largs Bay and Semaphore, and areas of industry such as Dry Creek and Wingfield.


Approximately 84.9 km2


Port Adelaide includes the suburbs of Birkenhead, Cavan, Dry Creek, Ethelton, Exeter, Garden Island, Gillman, Glanville, Largs Bay, Largs North, New Port, North Haven, Osborne, Ottoway, Outer Harbor, Peterhead, Port Adelaide, Semaphore, Semaphore South, Taperoo, Torrens Island and Wingfield, as well as part of the suburb of Rosewater.


Port Adelaide was a district for the Legislative Council from 1851 – 1857. The district is one of only four (with Flinders, Light and West Torrens) to bear the name of one of the 17 original 1857 House of Assembly districts. The name was discontinued in 1970 but was revived at the 1998 boundary redistribution to replace the district of Hart, and first represented again in 2002.

Origin of the name

The electoral district takes its name from the historic port and suburb at its centre. Chosen by Colonel Light as the most suitable port for the province, Light surveyed the road from Adelaide to Port Adelaide in 1837 and reported that a canal could easily be cut to connect the harbour with the River Torrens. Like the city of Adelaide, the port is named after Queen Adelaide, wife of the-then sitting monarch King William IV.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Port Adelaide loses the suburbs of Bolivar, Gepps Cross, Globe Derby Park and St Kilda. .

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 2002
Kevin O. Foley ALP 2002–2012
Susan Close ALP 2012*– present

* by-election

Members of historical district of Port Adelaide between the introduction of single member representation in 1938 and the discontinuation of the district in 1970
James E. Stephens ALP* 1933– 959
John R. Ryan ALP 1959–1970

* First elected in 1933 under the former multi-member electoral system.

Election results