2022–2026 electoral district map

2022 Electoral District of Florey (PDF, 735KB)

Features of the district


This largely residential district is located in the north-eastern suburbs of metropolitan Adelaide. Parafield Airport currently occupies the northern corner of the district.


Approximately 25.7 km2


Florey incorporates the suburbs of Ingle Farm, Para Hills, Para Hills West, Parafield, Para Vista, Pooraka, and includes part of the suburb of Mawson Lakes.


The district was created at the 1969 boundary redistribution and first contested and represented in 1970. During the intervening period, the location of the district has shifted quite considerably through different boundary redistributions.

Origin of the name

Florey is named after the Nobel Prize winning Australian pharmacologist and pathologist Howard Walter Florey (1898-1968). Born and educated in Adelaide, Florey went to Oxford as a Rhodes Scholar. He became a world-renowned scientist and pioneered the development and use of antibiotics (penicillin) sharing the Nobel Prize in 1945 for this discovery.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Florey gains the suburbs of Para Hills, Para Hills West, Parafield and a portion of the suburb of Mawson Lakes. It loses the suburbs of Valley View and Walkley Heights, and the parts of Northfield, Modbury and Modbury North it previously occupied.

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1970
Charles J. Wells ALP 1970–1979
Harold H. O’Neill ALP 1979–1982 
Robert J. Gregory ALP 1983–1993
Rodney P. Bass LIB 1993–1997
Frances E. Bedford ALP/IND 1997–2022
Michael Brown ALP 2022–present

Election results