2022–2026 electoral district map

Electoral District of Croydon (PDF, 531KB)

Features of the district


Croydon is an inner suburban residential district incorporating some light industry stretching north-west from the Parklands adjacent to North Adelaide as far as Grand Junction Road to the north.


Approximately 20.5 km2


Croydon incorporates the suburbs of Angle Park, Bowden, Brompton, Croydon, Croydon Park, Devon Park, Dudley Park, Ferryden Park, Kilburn, Kilkenny, Mansfield Park, Regency Park, Renown Park, Ridleyton, West Croydon and Woodville Gardens. It also includes a portion of the suburb of Prospect.


The district, previously named Spence, was created at the 1998 boundary redistribution and first contested and represented in 2002.

Origin of the name

The district of Croydon takes its name from the local suburb of the same name, which in turn takes its name after the town and borough in south London. The South Australian village of Croydon was laid out in 1855 and comprised Croydon Farm of 40 acres, the remainder being subdivided into five acre lots.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Croydon gains the suburb of Kilburn as well as a portion of the suburb of Prospect. Croydon loses the suburb of Athol Park and the remainder of Allenby Gardens, Welland and West Hindmarsh.  

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 2002
Michael J. Atkinson ALP 2002 (first elected in 1989)–2018
Peter Malinauskas ALP 2018–present

Election results