The election of a serving area councillor to the SA Legislative Council resulted in an area councillor position being vacated.

Section 6A of the Local Government (Elections) Act 1999 was applied to fill this vacancy.

The candidates who were not elected in the November 2022 periodic elections were asked to confirm their willingness and eligibility to be elected to this vacancy. As 5 candidates were determined willing and eligible to be elected to the vacancy, a recount of the votes cast at the periodic elections was conducted. 

First preference votes

First preference votes were distributed to the 5 eligible candidates, and ballot papers with no preference expressed for an eligible candidate were recorded as exhausted. Below are the first preference votes received by the candidates in the order they appeared on the ballot paper.

CandidateFirst preference votes
TURNER, Scott408
HERRMANN, Alysha1,751
VIRGO, Jason2,023
MORALE, Bruce1,282
VON STANKE, Ian David1,859

Distribution of preferences

LAURIE David Park After the distribution of preferences, Jason VIRGO obtained 3,051 votes and was declared elected under quota on Monday 3 April 2023. 


To view the distribution of votes refer to the City of Mount Gambier - scrutiny sheet (PDF, 135KB)