Area Councillor (2 vacancies)
Due to the resignation of a member of the Council, and an existing Councillor vacancy, a supplementary election was held in June 2021 to fill two vacancies for Area Councillor for Copper Coast Council.
Election summary

Five candidates contested the election, and on Thursday 17 June 2021 Peter SIMS and Sandra Marie PADDICK were declared elected.

Detailed election results and other information about the election can be found below.

Roll close 5pm, Wednesday 31 March 2021
Opening of nominations Thursday 22 April 2021
Nominations close

12 noon, Thursday 6 May 2021

Dispatch of ballot material to electors Wednesday 26 May 2021 to Tuesday 1 June 2021
Close of Voting (Polling Day) 12 noon, Tuesday 15 June 2021
Scrutiny and count

From 1pm, Thursday 17 June 2021

At the close of nominations at 12 noon on Thursday 6 May 2021, a total of five (5) nominations were received and accepted for the supplementary election. In accordance with the Local Government (Elections) Act 1999, a draw was held after the close of nominations to determine the order in which names of candidates would appear on the ballot paper and the result of the draw was as follows:

Profiles of each of these candidates are available by clicking their names above.

Daily Returns
CopperCoast June 15
Count Summary
Enrolled voters 11660
Envelopes returned 3640
Envelopes accepted


Ballot papers not returned in envelope 0
Voter participation 3640 (31.22% of the total enrolment)
Formal votes


Informal votes 57
Quota 1163
First preference votes
Below are the first preference votes received by the candidates in the order they appeared on the ballot paper. Percentages have been rounded to two decimal places.
CandidateFirst preference votesPercentage
DAYMAN, Charmaine 635   18.21%
SIMS, Peter 1106   31.71%
MILLER, Mark 230   6.59%
BELL, Su 745   21.36%
PADDICK, Sandra Marie 772   22.13%
Distribution of preferences

As Peter SIMS and Sandra Marie PADDICK each obtained a number of votes greater than the quota of 1163 they have been declared elected.

To view the distribution of votes refer to the

Copper Coast - Area Councillors (FINAL) 17 June 2021 (XLS 82 KB)