2022–2026 electoral district map

Electoral District of Waite (PDF, 919KB)

Features of the district


This district located in the hills and foothills to the south-east of Adelaide combines leafy residential areas and hilly countryside, including the Belair National Park. The Sturt River forms its southern boundary.


Approximately 55.9 km2


Waite includes the suburbs of Belair, Bellevue Heights, Blackwood, Brown Hill Creek, Clapham, Coromandel Valley, Craigburn Farm, Eden Hills, Glenalta, Hawthorndene, Lower Mitcham, Lynton, Mitcham, Springfield, Torrens Park. It also includes parts of the suburb of Upper Sturt.


The district was created in 1936 and became effective at the 1938 elections.

Origin of the name

The district is named after Peter Waite (1834–1922), who arrived in South Australia in 1859 and became a prominent landowner, businessman and benefactor. Waite became Chairman of Elder's Wool and Produce Company in 1883 and Chairman of Directors of Elder Smith and Co. in 1888. He donated his Urrbrae estate to the University of Adelaide in 1913 and further land in 1915. He also gave 45 hectares to the South Australian government for the establishment of an agricultural high school. In 1923 the Waite Agricultural Research Institute was named after him.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Waite gains the suburbs of Bellevue Heights, Clapham and Lower Mitcham. Waite loses the suburbs of Coromandel East, Crafers West, Kingswood, Netherby and Urrbrae.

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Members since first represented in 1993
Stephen J. Baker LIB 1993–1997
Martin L.J. Hamilton-Smith LIB (1997–2014)/ IND (2014–2018) 1997–2018
Sam Duluk LIB (2018–2020)/ IND (2020–2022) 2018–2022
Catherine L. Hutchesson ALP 2022–present

Election results