2022–2026 electoral district map

Electoral District of Unley (PDF, 560KB)

Features of the district


Unley is a largely residential area immediately south of the Adelaide central business district and Park Lands. It is bound on its eastern side by Glen Osmond Road and the South Eastern Freeway.


Approximately 16.3 km2


Unley includes the suburbs of Fullarton, Goodwood, Hawthorn, Highgate, Hyde Park, Kings Park, Kingswood, Malvern, Myrtle Bank, Netherby, Parkside, Unley, Unley Park, Urrbrae and Wayville. It also includes part of the suburb of Millswood.


The district was created in 1936 and became effective at the 1938 elections.

Origin of the name

This district takes its name after the suburb which lies within it. Unley was the family name of the wife of Thomas Whistler, owner of land in Unley which was laid out around 1857. The name may also be named after the village of Undley in Suffolk, England.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Unley gains the suburbs of Hawthorn, Kingswood, Netherby and Urrbrae. Unley loses the suburbs of Eastwood, Frewville, Glenside and Glenunga and the remainder of the suburb of Glen Osmond.

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1938
John M. McLeay IND 1938–1941
Colin R. Dunnage LCL 1941–1962
Gilbert R.A. Langley ALP 1962–1982
Milton K. Mayes ALP 1982–1993
Mark K. Brindal LIB 1993–2006
David G. Pisoni LIB 2006–present

Election results