2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


This district occupies an area on the north-western outskirts of metropolitan Adelaide and incorporates both residential areas, market gardens and the Edinburgh Airfield. The western boundary is defined by the Gulf St Vincent.


Approximately 318.71 km2


Taylor includes the suburbs of Andrews Farm, Angle Vale, Buckland Park, Burton, Davoren Park, Direk, Edinburgh, Edinburgh North, Elizabeth North, Macdonald Park, Penfield, Penfield Gardens, Smithfield, Smithfield Plains, Virginia and Waterloo Corner, and also the localities of Port Gawler, Middle Beach and Two Wells.


The district of Taylor was created at the 1991 boundary redistribution and was represented for the first time in 1993.

Origin of the name

The district is named in honour of Doris Irene Taylor, MBE (1901 – 1968), who in 1953 founded Meals on Wheels, an organisation which prepares and delivers meals to the elderly, those with a disability, people recovering from surgery and carers. Although Doris Taylor was severely physically handicapped at the age of seven as a result of an accident, she spent much of her life assisting the aged, ill and needy.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Taylor gains the suburbs of Angle Vale, Davoren Park, Elizabeth North, Smithfield and Smithfield Plains. Taylor also gains part of Adelaide Plains Council (formerly District Council of Mallala) incorporating the localities of Middle Beach and Two Wells and the remainder of the locality of Port Gawler. Taylor loses the suburbs of Boliver and St Kilda and the locality of Lewiston, and also part of the suburb of Salisbury North and the remainder of the suburb of Paralowie.

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1993
Lynn M. F. Arnold ALP 1993 – 1994
Patricia L. (Trish) White ALP 1994 – 2010
Leesa A. Vlahos ALP 2010 – 2018
Jon Gee ALP 2018 –

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results