2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


This district is situated in the far south-eastern part of the state around the city of Mount Gambier. It is bounded by the Southern Ocean to the south and the border with Victoria to the east.


Approximately 1,940 km2


Mount Gambier includes the City of Mount Gambier incorporating Mount Gambier and the District Council of Grant incorporating Port MacDonnell and Tarpeena. 


The district, previously named Gordon, was created at the 1998 boundary redistribution and first contested and represented in 2002. A previous electoral district of Mount Gambier existed from 1938 – 1993.

Origin of the name

The district takes its name from the volcano and city at its centre, which were named after Admiral of the Fleet James Gambier, 1st Baron Gambier, GCB (1756 – 1833) who was the Royal Navy officer who commanded the British fleet during the Napoleonic Wars at the second battle of Copenhagen in 1807.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

No changes.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF 1.8 MB).

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 2002
Rory J. McEwen IND  2002 – 2010
Donald W. (Don) Pegler IND 2010 – 2014
Troy Bell LIB (2014 – 2017) / IND (2017 – ) 2014 –
Members of historical electoral district of Mount Gambier (during its existence, 1938 – 1993)
John Fletcher IND 1938 – 1958
Ronald F. Ralston ALP 1938 – 1958
Allan R. Burdon ALP 1962 – 1975
Harold Allison LIB 1975 – 1993

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results