2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


The district of Lee is located to the north-west of the City of Adelaide, with the Gulf St Vincent residential suburbs of Grange, Tennyson and West Lakes Shore forming its western boundary.


Approximately 18.9 km2


Lee includes the suburbs of Grange, Royal Park, Seaton, Semaphore Park, Tennyson, West Lakes and West Lakes Shore.


The district was created at the 1991 boundary redistribution and first represented in 1993.

Origin of the name

The district is named after the Irish-Australian women’s suffrage campaigner Mary Lee (1821 – 1909) who worked successfully for political and social reform. Secretary of the South Australian Women's Suffrage League, she directed the campaign for public acceptance of women's suffrage until it was accepted in 1894. She also served with the Female Refuge ladies' committee, the Distressed Women's and Children's Committee and the Adelaide Sick Poor Fund. She campaigned against 'sweated' labour, proposed the formation of trade unions for women and became foundation secretary, later vice-president of the Working Women's Trade Union. She was the first woman to be appointed official visitor to lunatic asylums.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Lee gains the suburb of Royal Park and the remainder of the suburbs of Grange and Seaton. Lee loses the suburbs of Birkenhead, Ethelton, Exeter, Glanville, Largs Bay, New Port, Peterhead, Semaphore and Semaphore South.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF 1.8 MB).

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1993
Joseph P. (Joe) Rossi LIB 1993 – 1997
Michael J. Wright ALP 1997 – 2014
Stephen Mulligan ALP 2014 – 

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results