2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


Kaurna is a coastal district in the south-west of metropolitan Adelaide and includes some of the more southerly beach suburbs as well as some of the outer southern residential suburbs.


Approximately 44.69 km2


Kaurna includes the suburbs of Hackham, Huntfield Heights, Maslin Beach, Moana, Noarlunga Downs, Old Noarlunga, Port Noarlunga South, Seaford, Seaford Heights, Seaford Meadows and Seaford Rise. It also includes part of the suburb of Onkaparinga Hills.


The district of Kaurna was created at the 1991 boundary redistribution and was represented for the first time in 1993.

Origin of the name

This district is named after, and a commemoration of, the local Kaurna Aboriginal people who are the Traditional Owners of the Adelaide Plains. Kaurna country extended from Crystal Brook in the north down to Cape Jarvis in the south and the Mount Lofty Ranges in the east.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Kaurna gains the suburbs of Hackham, Huntfield Heights, Noarlunga Downs, Old Noarlunga and Seaford Heights, and also gains part of the suburb of Onkaparinga Hills. Kaurna loses the suburbs of Aldinga Beach, Port Noarlunga and Port Willunga, and also loses the remainder of the suburbs of Aldinga and Christies Beach.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF 1.8 MB).

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1993
Lorraine Rosenberg LIB 1993 – 1997
John D. Hill ALP 1997 – 2014
Chris Picton ALP 2014 –

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results
2010 State Election results