2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


This large rural district is made up of the hinterland farming area of South Australia to the south-east of metropolitan Adelaide stretching as far as the Victorian border in the east. It includes the historic river port of Goolwa near the Murray Mouth and the city of Murray Bridge on the River Murray.


Approximately 18,091 km2


Hammond includes the Rural City of Murray Bridge, the District Councils of Karoonda East Murray and Southern Mallee, as well as parts of Alexandrina, Coorong, Mount Barker and Mid Murray councils. Notable localities include Callington, Cambrai, Coomandook, Karoonda, Langhorne Creek, Mannum, Nildottie, Peake, Pinnaroo, Purnong and Tailem Bend.


Hammond was contested and represented for the first time in 1997, following its creation at the 1994 boundaries redistribution.

Origin of the name

The district is named after Ruby Florence Hammond (1936-1993), who was the first South Australian Aboriginal person to stand for parliament. Hammond was an Aboriginal rights campaigner and very active in public affairs, serving the general community and the Aboriginal people - particularly in relation to policy formulation - with great note.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Hammond gains Southern Mallee District Council (including the localities of Lameroo and Pinnaroo) and the District Council of Karoonda East Murray (including the localities of Karoonda and Sandalwood). It also gains parts of Alexandrina Council, Mid Murray Council (including the localities of Cambrai, Mannum, Palmer and Walker Flat), Mount Barker Council, and the Rural City of Murray Bridge (including the localities of Monarto and Monarto South). Hammond loses a different portion of Alexandrina Council (including the localities of Goolwa and Hindmarsh Island, and parts of Finniss and Currency Creek) as well as a portion of Coorong District Council.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF 1.8 MB).

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1997
Ivan P. Lewis LIB/IND/CLIC (*) 1997 - 2006
Adrian S. Pederick LIB 2006 -

* Lewis was first elected as a Liberal, became Independent in July 2000 and then won re-election under the CLIC banner in 2002.

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results
2010 State Election results