2022–2026 electoral district map

2022 Electoral District of Giles (PDF, 2MB)

Features of the district


This vast, remote country district extends from the Iron Triangle cities of Port Augusta and Whyalla on the Spencer Gulf, north-west to the borders with Western Australia and the Northern Territory and encompasses several councils, pastoral leases, Pitjantjatjara Aboriginal Land and Crown Land.


Approximately 335,186.6 km2


Giles incorporates the City of Whyalla, the District Council of Coober Pedy, the Flinders Ranges Council, the Municipal Council of Roxby Downs, and the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Lands. It also includes portions of Port Augusta City Council (including Port Augusta West) and the Pastoral Unincorporated Area (including the localities of Marla and Oodnadatta).


Giles was contested and represented for the first time in 1993, following its creation at the 1991 boundaries redistribution. Originally anchored to the city of Whyalla as its single significant urban population base, at the 2020 boundaries redistribution its boundaries were extended to also incorporate part of the city of Port Augusta.

Origin of the name

The district is named after William Ernest Giles (1835–1897) who arrived in Adelaide in 1850, and in later life explored much of the hinterland of this rural district. He led the 1872 and 1873 expeditions into Central Australia to find a practicable route to Western Australia, ‘discovering’ Lake Amadeus and Mount Olga. His third major expedition in 1875 crossed the Great Victoria Desert to WA, returning across the Gibson Desert. This won him a gold medal from the Royal Geographical Society, London, in 1880. He also explored the Musgrave Ranges in 1882.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Giles gains a portion of Port Augusta City Council incorporating the localities of Blanche Harbor, Commissariat Point and Port Augusta West, and portions of the localities of Carriewerloo, Cultana, Lincoln Gap and Mount Arden.

Giles loses the District Council of Franklin Harbour, the District Council of Kimba, Maralinga Tjarutja (including the locality of Oak Valley) and a portion of the Pastoral Unincorporated Area (incorporating the localities of Chundaria and Narlaby, a portion of Pinkawillinie and the remainder of localities including Gawler Ranges, Nullarbor, Pureba and Yellabinna).

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1993
Frank T. Blevins ALP 1993–1997
Lynette R. Breuer ALP 1997–2014
Edward (Eddie) Hughes ALP 2014–present

Election results