2022–2026 electoral district map

Electoral District of Gibson (PDF, 440KB)

Features of the district


Gibson is a seaside residential district to the south-west of metropolitan Adelaide, extending on its western side down Gulf St Vincent from Somerton Park to Brighton in the south, and on its eastern side down Marion Road as far as its junction with Main South Road.


Approximately 15.2 km2


Gibson incorporates the suburbs of Brighton, Dover Gardens, Hove, Marion, North Brighton, Oaklands Park, Seacombe Gardens, Sturt and Warradale. It also includes most of the suburb of Somerton Park.


This district, formerly named Bright, was created at the 2016 electoral redistribution and was first represented in 2018.

Origin of the name

The district takes its name from Gladys Ruth Gibson CBE (1901–1972) who was a prominent South Australian educationalist and women’s activist in the mid-twentieth century. As an educationalist, Gibson was a teacher, inspector of schools, member of the Public Examinations Board, foundation member of the Australian College of Education, founder of St Ann’s College, University of Adelaide, and president of the South Australian University Women Graduate’s Association. As a women’s activist, Gibson was South Australian president of the National Council of Women, president of the Australian National Council of Women, and vice-president of the International Council of Women.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Gibson gains a portion of the suburb of Somerton Park and loses the suburb of South Brighton.

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 2018
Corey Wingard LIB 2018–2022
Sarah Andrews ALP 2022–present
Members of former electoral district of Bright (during its existence, 1985–2018)
Derek J. Robertson ALP 1985–1989
Wayne A. Matthew LIB 1989–2006
Chloe C. Fox ALP 2006–2014
David Speirs LIB 2014–2018

Election results