2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


This district is located in the inner southern suburbs of Adelaide and is made up of predominantly residential suburbs with some business and light industry.


Approximately 18.30 km2


Elder includes the suburbs of Clapham, Clovelly Park, Colonel Light Gardens, Cumberland Park, Daw Park, Hawthorn, Lower Mitcham, Melrose Park, Mitchell Park, Panorama, Pasadena, St Marys, Tonsley and Westbourne Park.

This list is indicative only.


The district was created at the 1991 boundary redistribution and first contested and represented in 1993.

Origin of the name

The district is named after Sir Thomas Elder (1818-1897), a nineteenth-century businessman, philanthropist and politician who arrived in Adelaide in 1854 and formed a partnership with R. Barr Smith, E. Stirling and J. Taylor, making a fortune by financing the development of the Wallaroo and Moonta mines. Later Elder, Smith and Co. became one of the world’s largest wool sellers. The Elder Conservatorium is named in his memory.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Elder gains the suburbs of Clapham, Cumberland Park, Hawthorn, Lower Mitcham, Panorama, Pasadena, St Marys and Westbourne Park, and the remainder of the suburbs of Colonel Light Gardens and Daw Park. Elder loses the suburbs of Ascot Park, Marion and Park Holme. Elder also loses the remainder of the suburbs of Edwardstown, Plympton Park and South Plympton, and parts of the suburbs of Oaklands Park and Warradale.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF 1.8 MB).

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1993
David E. Wade LIB 1993 – 1997
Patrick F. Conlon ALP 1997 – 2014
Annabel Digance ALP 2014 – 2018
Carolyn Habib LIB 2018–

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results
2010 State Election results