In South Australia, whole of state council elections (called periodic elections) are held every four years for all 68 councils except the Municipal Council of Roxby Downs, which operates under its own administration.

The next periodic council elections will take place in November 2022.

If an elected position on a council becomes vacant in between periodic elections, ECSA may conduct a supplementary election (often described as a ‘by-election’). A vacancy can occur due to death, illness, resignation, or any other circumstances according to the Local Government Act 1999.

For general information about becoming a candidate for an elected position on a council, visit our  resources for council candidates page.

For more information about council elections, including who is eligible to vote and how the elections are conducted, visit our  council election fast facts.

2022 Local Government Periodic Timetable

Roll close 5 pm, Friday 29 July 2022
Opening of nominations Tuesday 23 August 2022
Nominations close 12 noon, Tuesday 6 September 2022
Dispatch of ballot material to electors Between Friday 14 October and Thursday 20 October 2022
Close of voting (Polling Day) 5 pm, Thursday 10 November 2022
Scrutiny and count 9 am, Saturday 12 November 2022

Current elections

View all current elections

Past council elections results and reports

For information about past council elections view our council election reports or past council election results and statistics.