2022–2026 electoral district map

2022 Electoral District of West Torrens (PDF, 660KB)

Features of the district


The district of West Torrens is located directly to the west of the city and electoral district of Adelaide. The edge of Adelaide Airport forms part of its western boundary. This district features a mix of older and newer suburbs and some light industry.


Approximately 17.5 km2


West Torrens includes the suburbs of Allenby Gardens, Brooklyn Park, Cowandilla, Flinders Park, Hilton, Hindmarsh, Keswick Terminal, Mile End, Mile End South, Richmond, Thebarton, Torrensville, Underdale, Welland, West Hindmarsh and West Richmond. It also includes part of the suburb of Lockleys.


West Torrens is (along with Flinders, Light and Port Adelaide) one of only four South Australian electoral districts to retain the name it had at the inaugural 1857 House of Assembly election. The district has been created and abolished four times as a House of Assembly district, and once as a Legislative Council district. It was first used as a Legislative Council district from 1851 until 1857. From 1857 until 1902 it was a House of Assembly district. It was recreated again at the 1915 election and lasted until 1938. Then in 1955 it was recreated to replace the seat of Thebarton and continued until 1970 when it was renamed Peake. Finally, at the 1998 redistribution, it was restored to its original name.

Origin of the name

The district takes its name from the River Torrens which flows from east to west across the district. The West Torrens region included the first ‘country’ sections to be surveyed by Colonel Light and his party. It was among the earliest areas to be settled and was one of the first districts to seek local government status following the proclamation of the Districts Councils Act in 1852.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

West Torrens gains the remainder of the suburbs of Allenby Gardens, Welland and West Hindmarsh. West Torrens loses the suburbs of Marleston and Netley.

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 2002
John F. Walsh ALP 1956–1965
Glen R. Broomhill ALP 1965–1970
Anastasios (Tom) Koutsantonis ALP 2002–present

Election results