2022–2026 electoral district map

Electoral District of Reynell (PDF, 712KB)

Features of the district


The district of Reynell is a mixture of residential and industrial suburbs and lies to the south-west of the metropolitan Adelaide area. The Gulf St Vincent coastline forms its western boundary and the Southern Expressway runs down its centre.


Approximately 31.3 km2


Reynell includes the suburbs of Lonsdale, O’Sullivan Beach, Old Reynella and Reynella, and part of the suburbs of Christies Beach, Christie Downs and Morphett Vale.


The district of Reynell was created at the 1991 boundary redistribution and was contested and represented for the first time in 1993.

Origin of the name

The district is named after John Reynell (1809–1873), a leading force and foundation member of the Agricultural and Horticultural Society of South Australia, who arrived in Adelaide on the Surrey in 1838. Reynell began pastoral operations from Reynella Farm in 1840, planting vines in 1841 and pioneering the export of claret and burgundy to New Zealand. Reynell is believed to have established the first commercial vineyard and winery in South Australia. In 1854 he sold part of his farm for the township of Reynella to expand.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Reynell gains the suburb of Old Reynella and a portion of the suburb of Morphett Vale.

Reynell loses the suburbs of Hackham West, Noarlunga Centre and Port Noarlunga, and portions of the suburbs of Christie Downs and Christies Beach.

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1993
Julie M. Greig LIB 1993–1997
Mary G. (Gay) Thompson ALP 1997–2010
Katrine A. Hildyard ALP 2014–present

Election results