2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


This district is situated in northern metropolitan Adelaide within the limits of the City of Salisbury. It is made up predominantly of residential suburbs and is crossed by the Little Para River.


Approximately 19.07 km2


Ramsay includes the suburbs of Paralowie, Salisbury, Salisbury Downs and Salisbury Plain, and also part of the suburb of Salisbury North.


The district of Ramsay was created at the 1983 boundary redistribution and was contested and represented for the first time in 1985.

Origin of the name

The district is named after Alexander Maurice Ramsay CBE (1914 – 1978), who was General Manager of the South Australian Housing Trust for over 25 years and was a prominent figure in community affairs, devoting his talents to improving the lives of South Australians.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Ramsay gains part of the suburb of Salisbury North and the remainder of the suburb of Paralowie. Ramsay loses the suburbs of Brahma Lodge, Parafield and Salisbury South, and the remainder of the suburb of Parafield Gardens.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF 1.8 MB).

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1985
Lynn M. F. Arnold ALP 1985 – 1993
Michael D. (Mike) Rann ALP 1993 – 2012
Zoe Bettison ALP *2012 – 


Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2012 By-election results
2010 State Election results