2022–2026 electoral district map

Electoral District of Playford (PDF, 631KB)

Features of the district


This largely residential district is located in the northern suburbs of metropolitan Adelaide, bound by Port Wakefield Road along its western side and the Gawler railway line on its eastern side.


Approximately 17 km2


Playford includes the suburbs of Green Fields, Parafield Gardens, Salisbury Downs, and portions of the suburbs of Mawson Lakes and Paralowie.


The district was created in 1969 and first contested and represented in 1970. During the intervening years its boundaries have shifted considerably.

Origin of the name

The district of Playford is named after Sir Thomas Playford (1896–1981), Premier of South Australia from 1938 to 1965, the longest serving Premier in South Australia. One of Playford’s key successes was to change the basis of the state’s economy from an over-reliance on primary industry to an industry-based footing. The Whyalla steelworks and shipyard, the Port Stanvac oil refinery and the Housing and Electricity Trusts were all established in his time.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Playford gains the suburbs of Salisbury Downs and a portion of the suburb of Paralowie. Playford loses the suburbs of Para Hills, Para Hills West and Parafield, and a portion of the suburb of Mawson Lakes.

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1970
Terence M. McRae ALP 1970–1989
John A. Quirke ALP 1989–1997
John J. (Jack) Snelling ALP 1997–2018
Michael Brown ALP 2018–2022
John P. Fullbrook ALP 2022–present

Election results