2022–2026 electoral district map

2022 Electoral District of Newland (PDF, 828KB)

Features of the district


The district of Newland is located on the north-eastern edge of metropolitan Adelaide area and occupies much of the City of Tea Tree Gully local government area. The district includes the Hope Valley Reservoir.


Approximately 26.1 km2


Newland includes the suburbs of Banksia Park, Fairview Park, Hope Valley, Modbury, Ridgehaven, St Agnes, Tea Tree Gully, Yatala Vale, and part of the suburb of Modbury North.


The district was created at the 1976 boundary redistribution and first represented in 1977. During the intervening years its boundaries have shifted around considerably.

Origin of the name

Newland is named after Simpson Newland (1835-1925), a prominent South Australian pastoralist, author and politician. A wealthy farmer, he entered the House of Assembly in 1881 and was State Treasurer 1885-1887. Newland made significant contributions to development around the Murray River and was a prominent advocate of building locks and a major port on the river, as well as a north-south railway. Newland is best remembered today as the author of the book ‘Paving the Way’.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Newland gains a portion of the suburb of Modbury North and the remainder of the suburb of Modbury. Newland loses the suburb of Vista and the localities of Forreston, Houghton, Humbug Scrub, Inglewood, Kersbrook, Lower Hermitage, Millbrook, Paracombe, Sampson Flat and Upper Hermitage and the remainder of Chain of Ponds.

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1977
John H. C. Klunder ALP 1977–1979
Brian Billard LIB 1979–1982
John H. C. Klunder ALP 1982–1985
Dianne L. (Di) Gayler ALP 1985–1989
Dorothy C. Kotz LIB 1989–2006
Thomas R. (Tom) Kenyon ALP 2006–2018
Richard Harvey LIB 2018–2022
Olivia M. Savvas ALP 2022–present

Election results