2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


This country district situated north-west of Adelaide incorporates the Yorke Peninsula which it covers completely, as well as some rural areas immediately to the north and east of the top part of Gulf St Vincent. The economy of the district is agriculture-based with cultivation predominantly of seeds and grains and some livestock farming.


Approximately 10,343 km2


Narungga incorporates Yorke Peninsula Council, the District Councils of Barunga West and the Copper Coast, as well as portions of Wakefield Regional Council and Adelaide Plains Council. It includes – among others – the towns of Ardrossan, Bute, Kadina, Maitland, Minlaton, Moonta, Snowtown, Port Wakefield and Wallaroo.


The district of Narungga was created at the 2016 redistribution and will be contested for the first time in 2018. It replaces the former electoral district of Goyder.

Origin of the name

This district is named after, and a commemoration of, the local Narungga Aboriginal people who are the Traditional Owners of the Yorke Peninsula. Narungga country extended southwards down the peninsula from a line running approximately between the towns of Port Broughton and Port Wakefield. The meaning of the word ‘narungga’ is campsite.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Narungga gains the localities of Alford, Barunga Gap, Bumbunga, Fisherman Bay, Hope Gap, Lochiel, Port Broughton, Snowtown and Ward Hill, as well as parts of the localities of Bute, Clements Gap, Mundoora and Wokurna. Narungga loses the localities of Erith, Fischer, Hoskin Corner, Korunye, Middle Beach, Owen, Redbank, Stockyard Creek and Two Wells, as well as parts of the localities of Grace Plains, Hamley Bridge, Port Gawler and Reeves Plains.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF 1.8 MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 2018
Fraser Ellis LIB 2018 –
Members of former electoral district of Goyder (during its existence, 1970 – 2018)
James R. Ferguson LCL 1970 – 1973
Raymond S. (Steele) Hall LCL 1938 – 1958
Leslie D. (David) Boundy LM/LIB 1962 – 1975
Edwin K.(Keith) Russack IND LIB / LIB 1975 – 1993
Eric J. (John) Meier LIB 1982 – 2006
Steven P. Griffiths LIB 2006 – 2018

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results