2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


Morialta covers residential and rural suburbs directly below and up into the Adelaide Hills to the east of Adelaide.


Approximately 356 km2


Morialta includes the suburbs of Ashton, Athelstone, Basket Range, Birdwood, Castambul, Cherryville, Cudlee Creek, Forest Range, Gumeracha, Highbury, Kenton Valley, Lenswood, Lobethal, Marble Hill, Montacute, Mount Torrens, Norton Summit, Rostrevor, Summertown, Teringie, Uraidla and Woodforde, and also part of the locality of Chain of Ponds.


The district, previously named Coles, was created at the 1998 boundary redistribution and first represented in 2002.

Origin of the name

Morialta is derived from a Kaurna aboriginal word 'mariyatala' - 'mari' meaning 'east' and 'yertala,' meaning ‘flowing water’.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Morialta gains the suburbs of Birdwood, Forest Range, Gumeracha, Lobethal, Mount Torrens, Summertown and Urialdla, and the remainder of the suburbs of Ashton, Basket Range, Highbury, Kenton Valley and Lenswood. Morialta loses the suburbs of Hornsnell Gully and Newton, and also the locality of Paracombe. Morialta also loses the remainder of the suburbs of Dernancourt and Paradise, and the localities of Chain of Ponds, Inglewood and Millbrook.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF 1.8 MB).

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 2002
Joan L. Hall LIB 2002 – 2006
Lindsay A. Simmons ALP 2006 – 2010
John A. Gardner LIB 2010 –

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results