2022–2026 electoral district map

Electoral District of Hurtle Vale (PDF, 848KB)

Features of the district


This district situated to the south of metropolitan Adelaide is made up of residential and semi-rural suburbs and includes parts of the Onkaparinga Hills National Park.


Approximately 48.1 km2


Hurtle Vale incorporates the suburbs of Hackham, Hackham West, Huntfield Heights, Onkaparinga Hills, Reynella East and Woodcroft. It also includes parts of the suburbs of Happy Valley and Morphett Vale.


The district of Hurtle Vale, as it exists now, was created at the 2016 boundary redistribution to replace the district of Fisher, and was contested and represented for the first time in 2018. 

Origin of the name

The district is named after Sir James Hurtle Fisher (1790–1875) who was the first resident Commissioner of South Australia. In 1837, Sir James, John Morphett, Colonel William Light and a party of marines set off from Glenelg intending to travel overland to Encounter Bay. The area where they encamped overnight was named Hurtle Vale in honour of the Commissioner. The new district Hurtle Vale contains the south-western parts of the former district of Fisher. Thereby a connection is retained through the surnames of Hurtle Fisher – even if the original locality of Hurtle Vale itself actually lies outside the district, further to the north.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Hurtle Vale gains the suburbs of Hackham, Hackham West, Huntfield Heights and Onkaparinga Hills. It loses the suburb of Old Reynella and a portion of Morphett Vale.

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 2018
Natalie F. (Nat) Cook ALP 2018–present 
Members of former electoral district of Fisher (during its existence, 1985–2018)
Philip B. Tyler ALP 1985–1989
Robert B. (Bob) Such LIB (1989–2000) / IND (2000–2014) 1989–2014
Natalie F. (Nat) Cook ALP 2014*–2018


Election results