2022–2026 electoral district map

2022 Electoral District of Flinders (PDF, 1.63MB)

Features of the district


This large rural district stretches from the Eyre Peninsula which it incorporates, along the Great Australian Bight to the border with Western Australia. The area is known for its commercial and recreational fishing and aquaculture industries, in addition to mixed grain production and livestock land.


Approximately 221,674.1 km2


Flinders incorporates the City of Port Lincoln and the District Councils of Ceduna, Cleve, Elliston, Franklin Harbour, Kimba, Lower Eyre Peninsula, Streaky Bay, Tumby Bay and Wudinna, the Local Government Area of Maralinga Tjarutja, as well as a portion of the Pastoral Unincorporated Area which includes the localities of Fowlers Bay, Nullarbor and Yalata.


Flinders was a district for the Legislative Councils of 1851-1856. It was one of the original 17 state electorates created in 1856 and effective at the first elections held for a bicameral parliament in South Australia in 1857. It is the only district to have survived in name continuously through to the present day.

Origin of the name

The district is named after Captain Matthew Flinders, RN (1774–1814) who made the first charts of the Australian coast and promoted the name Australia. In mid–1801 Flinders set out from England in the vessel ‘Investigator’ and surveyed the southern coastline of Australia. On his voyage back to England he was detained on the island of Mauritius for six years and finally returned home in 1810.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Flinders gains the District Council of Franklin Harbour (incorporating localities including Cowell, Lucky Bay and Port Gibbon) and the District Council of Kimba (incorporating localities that include Kimba, Solomon and Yalanda). Flinders also gains the Local Government Area of Maralinga Tjarutja (including the locality of Oak Valley) as well as a portion of the Pastoral Unincorporated Area (incorporating the remainder of the localities of Gawler Ranges, Lockes Claypan, Mitchidy Moola, Nullarbor, Pinkawillinie, Pureba and Yellabinna).

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since introduction of single member representation in 1938
Edward J Craigie IND 1938–1941
Rex W Pearson LCL 1941–1951
Glen G Pearson LCL 1951–1970
John A. Carnie LCL 1970–1973
Peter D. Blacker CP/NAT 1973–1993
Elizabeth M. Penfold LIB 1993–2010
Peter A. Treloar LIB 2010–2022
Samuel (Sam) Telfer LIB 2022–present

Election results