2022–2026 electoral district map

Electoral District of Dunstan (PDF, 687KB)

Features of the district


Located directly east of the Adelaide city parklands, the district contains some of the older residential suburbs of Adelaide and popular shopping and dining precincts of Magill Road and The Parade, Norwood.


Approximately 15.2 km2


Dunstan incorporates the suburbs of Beulah Park, College Park, Evandale, Firle, Hackney, Joslin, Kensington, Kensington Gardens, Kensington Park, Kent Town, Marden, Maylands, Norwood, Payneham, Payneham South, Royston Park, St Morris, St Peters, Stepney and Trinity Gardens.


The district, previously named Norwood, was created at the 2012 boundary redistribution and first contested and represented in 2014.

Origin of the name

Dunstan takes its name after Donald (Don) Dunstan AC QC (1926-1999) who was the Member for Norwood from 1953 until 1979 and Premier of South Australia between June 1967 and April 1968 and then from June 1970 to February 1979. Dunstan implemented substantial social reforms including introducing anti-discrimination legislation, pioneering Aboriginal Land Rights, decriminalising homosexuality, enacting consumer protection laws and electoral reforms including lowering the voting age to eighteen years.

Key boundary changes following the 2020 redistribution

Dunstan gains the suburbs of Beulah Park, Kensington, Kensington Gardens and Kensington Park.

It loses Dulwich, Felixstow, Glynde and Rose Park,

For full details see the 2020 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF, 1.6MB)

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 2014
Steven S. Marshall LIB 2014 (first elected in 2010)–2024
Cressida O’Hanlon ALP 2024–present

Election results