Current State electoral district map

2014 District of Playford map (PDF 1.8 MB)

2014 State election results

Electors on roll - 24 586
Formal ballot papers - 21 609
Informal ballot papers - 942
Total ballot papers returned - 22 551 

2014 two party preferred vote

ALP - 62.6%
LIB - 37.4%

Members since first represented in 1970

Surname First Name Party Period
McRAE Terence M ALP 1970 - 1989
QUIRKE John A ALP 1989 - 1997
 SNELLING John J (Jack) ALP 1997 -

ALP = Australian Labor Party


This district was created in 1969 and first represented in 1970.

Name origin: Sir Thomas Playford (1896-1981) was Premier of South Australia from 1938 to 1965, a record term. His objective was to change the basis of the State’s economy from an over-reliance on primary industry to an industry based footing. The Whyalla steelworks and shipyard, the Port Stanvac oil refinery, the Housing and Electricity Trusts were established in his time.

Size: Approximately 22.7 km²

Situated some 10 km north-east of the Adelaide central business district with Grand Junction Rd forming the southern boundary and Main North Rd the western boundary. The district is largely residential with some light industry.

Key boundary changes compared to 2010: Playford gains part of the suburb of Gulfview Heights. 

 2010 District of Playford map (PDF 1 MB)