Current State electoral district map

2014 District of Flinders map (PDF 1.2 MB)

2014 State election results

Electors on roll - 23 421
Formal ballot papers - 20 820
Informal ballot papers - 505
Total ballot papers returned - 21 325

2014 two party preferred vote
LIB - 79.2%
ALP - 20.8%

Members since introduction of single member representation in 1938

Surname First Name Party Period
 CRAIGIE  Edward J  IND  1938 – 1941 (1st elected 1930)
 PEARSON  Rex W  LCL  1941 - 1951
 PEARSON  Glen G  LCL  1951 - 1970
 CARNIE  John A  LCL  1970 - 1973
 BLACKER  Peter D  CP/NAT  1973 - 1993
 PENFOLD  Elizabeth M  LIB  1993 - 2010
 TRELOAR  Peter A  LIB  2010

CP = Country Party
IND = Independent
LCL = Liberal and Country League
LIB = Liberal Party of Australia
NAT = National


Flinders was a district for the Legislative Councils of 1851-1856. It was one of the original 17 State electorates created in 1856 and effective at the first elections held for a bicameral Parliament in South Australia in 1857. It is the only district to have survived in name to the present day.

Name origin: Captain Matthew Flinders, RN (1774-1814) made the first charts of the Australian coast and promoted the name Australia. In mid-1801 he set out from England in the vessel ‘Investigator’ and surveyed the southern coastline of Australia. On his voyage back to England he was detained on the island of Mauritius for six years and finally returned home in 1810.

Size: Approximately 61 139 km²

Location: This country district is centred on the Eyre Peninsula in the western part of South Australia. The area is known for its commercial and recreational fishing and aqua culture industries in addition to mixed grain production and livestock land.

Key boundary changes compared to 2010: Minor realignment in Nullabor Plains area.

2010 District of Flinders map (PDF 774 kB)