Current State electoral district map

2014 District of Elder map (PDF 1.77 MB)

2014 State election results

Electors on roll - 23 821
Formal ballot papers - 21 113
Informal ballot papers - 787
Total ballot papers returned - 21 900

2014 two party preferred vote
ALP - 51.8%
LIB - 48.2%

Surname First Name Party Period
WADE David E LIB 1993 - 1997
CONLON Patrick F ALP 1997 - 2014
DIGANCE Annabel ALP 2014 -

ALP = Australian Labor Party
LIB = Liberal Party of Australia


The district was created at the 1991 redistribution of boundaries and effective 1993.

Name origin: Thomas Elder (1818-1897) arrived in Adelaide in 1854 and formed a partnership with R. Barr Smith, E. Stirling and J. Taylor making their fortunes by financing the development of the Wallaroo and Moonta mines. Later Elder, Smith and Co. became one of the world’s largest wool sellers. Elder financially assisted a number of explorers, was a member of the Legislative Council, donated £100 000 to the University of Adelaide, and contributed generously to the SA Art Gallery, Zoological Gardens and countless charities. The Elder Conservatorium is named in his memory.

Size: Approximately 15.7 km²

Location: To the south-west of Adelaide, this is largely a residential district with some light industry.

Key boundary changes compared to 2010: Elder gains the remainder of the suburb of Marion, and parts of the suburbs of Warradale, Daw Park, and Colonel Light Gardens. It loses the suburb of Clarence Gardens, and part of the suburb of Plympton Park. Remainders of the suburbs of Bedfork Park, Pasadena and St Marys are lost.

2010 District of Elder map (PDF 969 kB)