Current State electoral district map

2014 District of Davenport map (PDF 1.63 MB)

2015 by-election results

Electors on roll - 24 916
Formal ballot papers - 20 752
Informal ballot papers - 613
Total ballot papers returned - 21 365

2015 two party preferred vote
LIB - 53.1%
ALP - 46.9%

Due to the resignation of Iain Evans, a by-election was held for the district of Davenport on 31 January 2015.

Members since first represented in 1970

Surname First Name Party Period
STEELE Joyce LCL 1970 - 1973
BROWN Dean C LCL/LIB 1973 - 1985
EVANS Stanley G IND LIB/LIB 1985 - 1993
EVANS Iain F LIB 1993 - 2014
DULUK Samuel J (Sam) LIB *2015 -

IND LIB = Independent Liberal

LCL = Liberal and Country League
LIB = Liberal Party of Australia


The seat was created at the 1969 redistribution and was effective at the 1970 election.

Name origin: Sir Samuel Davenport (1818-1906) was elected to the Legislative Council in 1857. He was responsible for damming the Torrens Gorge, laying pipes to the city and encouraging the cultivation of a diverse range of crops and fruits, including the production of olive oil and the introduction of the docile Ligurian bee.

Size: Approximately 49.1 km²

Location: South of the City of Adelaide, the district extends from residential suburbs on the plains into the southern Adelaide foothills and includes Belair National Park.

Key boundary changes compared to 2010: Davenport gains the remainder of suburbs of Bedford Park and Flagstaff Hill. It loses the remainder of the suburbs of Pasadena, St Marys and Panorama.

2010 District of Davenport map (PDF 1.51 MB)