Current State electoral district map

2014 District of Reynell map (PDF 1.41 MB)

2014 State election results

Electors on roll - 23 965
Formal ballot papers - 21 001
Informal ballot papers - 965
Total ballot papers returned - 21 966

2014 two party preferred vote
ALP - 60.0%
LIB - 40.0%

Members since first represented in 1993

Surname First Name Party Period
GREIG Julie M LIB 1993 - 1997
THOMPSON Mary G (Gay) ALP 1997 - 2014
HILDYARD Katrine ALP 2014 -

ALP = Australian Labor Party
LIB = Liberal Party of Australia


The district was created in 1991 and first represented in 1993.

Name origin: John Reynell (1809-1873), a foundation member of the Agricultural and Horticultural Society of South Australia, settled in Adelaide in October 1838. He began pastoral operations from Reynell Farm in 1840, planting vines in 1841 and pioneering the export of claret and burgundy to New Zealand. In 1854 he sold part of his farm for the township of Reynella to expand.

Size: Approximately 30.0 km²

Location: The district is largely residential with some light industrial areas and lies to the south west of the outer Adelaide area with the coast as its western boundary.

Key boundary changes compared to 2010: Reynell gains part of the suburb of Christies Beach. It loses the remainder of the suburb of Onkaparinga Hills.

2010 District of Reynell map (PDF 862 kB)