Current State electoral district map

2014 District of Morphett map (PDF 1.45 MB)

2014 State election results

Electors on roll - 23 725
Formal ballot papers - 21 073
Informal ballot papers - 547
Total ballot papers returned - 21 620 

2014 two party preferred vote
LIB - 62.9%
ALP - 37.1%

Members since first represented in 1977

Surname First Name Party Period
GROOM Terence R ALP 1977 - 1979
OSWALD John K G LIB 1979 - 2002
McFETRIDGE Duncan LIB 2002 -

ALP = Australian Labor Party
LIB = Liberal Party of Australia


This district was created at the 1976 redistribution and first represented in 1977.

Name origin: Sir John Morphett (1809-1892) lived in the Morphettville area and was Speaker of the enlarged Legislative Council in 1851 and President of the elected Legislative Council 1865-1873.

Size: Approximately 15.6 km²

An older-established seat 10 km from the central business district bounded by the coast in the west and the Morphettville Race course to the east and including the suburb of Glenelg

Key boundary changes compared to 2010:
Morphett gains the suburb of West Beach and parts of the suburbs of Glenelg North and western part of Somerton Park. It loses parts of the suburbs of Novar Gardens, Somerton Park, and Warradale. 

 2010 District of Morphett map (PDF 782 kB)