Current State electoral district map

2014 District of Morialta map (PDF 2.03 MB)

2014 State election results

Electors on roll - 25 375
Formal ballot papers - 22 971
Informal ballot papers - 740
Total ballot papers returned - 23 711 

2014 two party preferred vote
LIB - 60.0%
ALP - 40.0%

Members since first represented in 2002

Surname First Name Party Period
 HALL Joan L  LIB 2002 - 2006 
 SIMMONS Lindsay A  ALP 2006 - 2010 
 GARDNER John A  LIB 2010 -

ALP = Australian Labor Party
LIB = Liberal Party of Australia


The district was created at the 1998 boundary redistribution (formerly Coles) and contested for the first time at the 2002 election.

Name origin: Morialta is derived from a Kaurna aboriginal word 'mariyatala' - 'mari' meaning 'east' and 'yertala,' meaning ‘flowing water’.

Size: Approximately 168.3 km²

Location: To the east and north-east of Adelaide, the seat takes in suburbs in the plains, foothills suburbs and hills as well as farming and market gardening areas. Lower North East Road forms the northern boundary of the seat.

Key boundary changes compared to 2010:
Morialta gains the suburbs of Cudlee Creek and Paracombe. It also gains parts of the suburbs Chain of Ponds, Highbury, Inglewood, Millbrook, and Dernancourt. It loses the suburbs of Skye, Auldana, and the remainder of the suburbs of Wattle Park, Magill, and Rosslyn Park.

2010 District of Morialta map (PDF 1.54 MB)