Current State electoral district map

2014 District of MacKillop map (PDF 1.21 MB)

2014 State election result

Electors on roll - 23 565
Formal ballot papers - 21 219
Informal ballot papers - 638
Total ballot papers returned - 21 857

2014 two party preferred vote
LIB - 76.7%
ALP - 23.3%

Members since first represented in 1993

Surname First Name Party Period
BAKER Dale S LIB 1993 - 1997
WILLIAMS Michael R (Mitch) LIB 1997 -

LIB = Liberal Party of Australia


A district created at the 1991 redistribution and first represented in 1993.

Name origin: Mother Mary MacKillop (1842-1909) founded the Institute of the Sisters of St. Joseph in Penola in 1866. Her work, and that of the many nuns since her passing, has contributed to the welfare of thousands of South Australians by educating under privileged and isolated children in harsh times and caring for the sick and needy. Mother Mary MacKillop became the first Australian to be canonised on 17 October 2010.

Size: Approximately 24 981 km²

Location: A country seat in the south-east of the State, with pastoral, fishing and some managed forestry industry. It is bounded by the Southern Ocean to the west and the Victorian border to the east. The seat includes the coastal towns of Robe, Beachport and Kingston South East and rural centres of Naracoorte, Millicent, Keith, Bordertown and Penola.

Key boundary changes compared to 2010: MacKillop gains the remainder of the Wattle Range Council.

2010 District of MacKillop map (PDF 1.11 MB)