Current State electoral district map

2014 District of Lee map (PDF 1.61 MB)

2014 State election results

Electors on roll - 25 971
Formal ballot papers - 22 996
Informal ballot papers - 861
Total ballot papers returned - 23 857 

2014 two party preferred vote
ALP - 54.5%
LIB - 45.5%

Members since first represented in 1993

Surname First Name Party Period
 ROSSI  Joseph P  LIB  1993 - 1997
 WRIGHT  Michael J  ALP  1997 - 2014
 MULLIGHAN  Stephen  ALP  2014 -

ALP = Australian Labor Party
LIB = Liberal Party of Australia


The district was created at the 1991 redistribution and first represented in 1993.

Name origin: Mary Lee (1821-1909) arrived in South Australia in 1879 and worked successfully for political and social reform. Secretary of the Women's Suffrage League, she directed the campaign for public acceptance of women's suffrage until it was accepted in 1894. She campaigned against 'sweated' labour, proposed the formation of trade unions for women and became foundation secretary, later vice-president of the Working Women's Trade Union. She was the first woman to be appointed Visitor to Asylums.

Size: Approximately 19.7 km²

Location: To the north-west of Adelaide, with the Gulf St Vincent coast forming the western boundary of the district, this is largely a residential area of both new and established suburbs.

Key boundary changes compared to 2010: Lee gains part of the suburb of Seaton.

 2010 District of Lee map (PDF 794 kB)