Current State electoral district map

2014 District of Goyder map (PDF 1.49 MB)

2014 State election results

Electors on roll - 24 777
Formal ballot papers - 22 281
Informal ballot papers - 878
Total ballot papers returned - 23 159 

2014 two party preferred vote
LIB - 62.9%
ALP - 37.1%

Members since first represented in 1970

Surname First Name Party Period
FERGUSON James R LCL 1970 – 1973 (1st elected Yorke Peninsula 1963)
HALL Raymond S LCL 1973 - 1974
BOUNDY Leslie D LM/LIB 1974 - 1977
RUSSACK Edwin K IND LIB/LIB 1977 - 1982
MEIER Eric J (John) LIB 1982 - 2006
GRIFFITHS Steven P LIB 2006 -

IND LIB = Independent Liberal
LCL = Liberal and Country League
LIB = Liberal Party of Australia
LM = Liberal Movement


This district was created at the 1969 boundaries redistribution and first represented in 1970.

Name origin: George Woodruffe Goyder (1826-1898) was Surveyor-General of South Australia 1861-1894 and established the pattern of agriculture and pastoral development in northern South Australia. ‘Goyder's Line’ ran east-west across the colony indicating the northern limits of sustainable agricultural development.

Size: Approximately 9 258 km²

Location: This country district includes Yorke Peninsula to the west of Adelaide and some rural areas to the north and east of the top part of the Gulf St. Vincent. The district is mostly mixed grain, livestock and some pastoral farming.

Key boundary changes compared to 2010: Gains part of the District Council of Mallala, including the localities of Port Gawler and Two Wells. It loses part of the Wakefield Regional Council, including part of the locality of Balaklava.

2010 District of Goyder map (PDF 2.05 MB)