Current State electoral district map

2014 District of Frome map (PDF 1.72 MB)

2014 State election results

Electors on roll - 25 228
Formal ballot papers - 22 891
Informal ballot papers - 566
Total ballot papers returned - 23 457

2014 two party preferred vote
IND - 58.8%
LIB - 41.2%

Members since introduction of single member representation in 1938 (lapsed 1977-1993)

Surname First Name Party Period
O'HALLORAN Michael R ALP 1938 - 1960
CASEY Thomas M ALP 1960 - 1970
ALLEN Ernest C LCL/LIB 1970 - 1977
KERIN Robert G LIB 1993 - 2008
BROCK Geoffrey G IND 2009 -

ALP = Australian Labor Party
IND = Independent
LCL = Liberal and Country League
LIB = Liberal Party of Australia


First represented in 1884 as a seat in the far north of the State, the seat ceased to exist in 1902 and was revived 1938-1977. The district name of Frome was again revived in 1993 but with boundaries that covered largely a different area of the State than previously.

Name origin: Captain E C Frome (1802-1890) arrived in the Province in September 1839 and was appointed by Governor Gawler to the Executive Council. He was the third Surveyor-General after Light and Sturt and made a notable contribution to the development of the colony, including early surveys of the South Flinders Ranges near Pt. Pirie.

Size: Approximately 8 266 km²

Location: The district is a mid-northern country seat and includes the largely industrial urban centre of Port Pirie, extensive mixed grain and livestock farming areas and the grape growing and wine production areas of the Clare and Gilbert Valleys.

Key boundary changes compared to 2010: Gains part of the Wakefield Regional Council, including the localities of Dalkey and Mount Templeton and part of the locality of Balaklava.

2010 District of Frome map (PDF 1.18 MB)